Saturday, February 9, 2013

Binus Intl Debaters Lead DOTY 2013 Table After IVED Win

Binus International debaters Invi Atmanegara and Jaran Walia made an early start that enabled them to be co-leaders of the IndoDebate Debater of the Year table for January 2013. The pair were among the best Indonesian speakers in the 2013 World Universities Debating Championships and a few weeks later they won the 16th Indonesian Varsities English Debate, the national 3-on-3 championship. Speakers from Universitas Gadjah Mada and Universitas Brawijaya also are prominent in the list due to their strong showing in IVED and the Solo Open Debating Championship.

DOTY calculations do not use the WUDC ESL and EFL speaker lists but resorted to the ranks of Indonesian speakers in main list because some Indonesians fall under different classes. The table also took into account the achievements in the EFL knockouts. Secondary categories in internationals like ESL and EFL in WUDC are seen equal to national tournaments due to their comparable levels. More points will be awarded if teams break into the main knockouts of a major international competition.

Top 10 on DOTY 2013 table for January. Click here for full list.
  1. Invi Atmanegara (Binus International)
  2. Jaran Walia (Binus International)
  3. Amir Abdul Aziz (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  4. Dianty Widyowati (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  5. Andrew Sadeli (Binus International)
  6. Dennys Kapa (Universitas Indonesia)
  7. Nur Rizki Oceano (Universitas Brawijaya)
  8. Alvine Stefan Wijaya (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  9. Zelly Sidi Zamzami (Universitas Brawijaya)
  10. Romario Tambunan (Universitas Gadjah Mada)

No comments:

Post a Comment