Monday, March 3, 2014

DOTY 2014: UGM Debaters Keep Leading the Table

Two debaters from Universitas Gadjah Mada are still at the top of the 2014 IndoDebate Debater of the Year table. Romario Tambunan leads after reaching the final of the 2014 Jogjakarta Debate Forum Open and Indriani Pratiwi tails him closely. They both gave UGM its third national 3-on-3 title from the Indonesian Varsities English Debate last January. Whether they could keep leading is still unclear. UGM debaters had a strong start last year but failed to outlast the formidable Binus International pair of Jaran Walia, who eventually won the third DOTY title, and Invi Atmanegara in crucial competitions in the second half of 2013.

Right behind the UGM duo, the first DOTY title holder, Roderick Sibarani from Universitas Indonesia, is making a case as he is bent on making the most out of his last year in college. His partnership with Astri Agustina, another veteran but from UGM, triumphed in the JDF Open. The other tournament that contributed to the list is the 2014 Asian English Olympics. However, foreigners raided the top awards and filled the top side of the individual tab, allowing only very few Indonesians to harvest points. The top 10 individuals on the DOTY 2014 list as of January 2014 is as follows:
  1. Romario Tambunan (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  2. Indriani Pratiwi (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  3. Roderick Sibarani (Universitas Indonesia)
  4. Alif Satria (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  5. Fauzan Reza Maulana (Institut Teknologi Bandung)
  6. Astri Agustina (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  7. Magreta Kailla Adenta (Universitas Indonesia)
  8. Edward Sutanto (Universitas Diponegoro)
  9. Rizky Akita (Universitas Diponegoro)
  10. Melisa Irene (Binus International)

No comments:

Post a Comment