Monday, November 5, 2012

Newbies 2012: Undefeated Team Continue UI Reign

UI A (l to r): Zivana Sabili, Claristy, Opi Aristya
#1 Universitas Indonesia A (Zivana Sabili, Opi Aristya, Claristy) won the 2012 Newbies English Debate Competition without a single loss, giving the school its third consecutive title. In the final, they knocked down the motion "THBT punishment for crimes committed on the basis of economic neccesities should be discounted" and unanimously defeated #3 Universitas Padjadjaran B (Siti Nisrina Husna, Livita Sumali, Wiraditma Prananta).

UI also dominated the individual tab by grabbing the top three with Zivana Sabili emerging as best speaker of the competition. Since its inception in 2006, Newbies winners all hailed from UI with an exception in 2009 when Binus International took the trophy out of Depok for the one and only time so far. 

Newbies is an annual tournament held at UI's Depok campus and designed for those without any varsity debating experience. Many Newbies champions have moved on to win national tournaments. 

No comments:

Post a Comment