Monday, January 16, 2012

Roderick Sibarani is the First IndoDebate Debater of the Year

No debater in Indonesia was more active and successful in 2011 than Roderick Sibarani from Universitas Indonesia. The third-year accounting student, popularly known as Odi, won 3 trophies, grabbed 2 best speaker awards and reached at least the semifinals in 8 out of 10 tournaments he joined last year. He championed the classic ALSA UI E-Comp, the longest-running English debate event in the country, and with the same teammates he carried the name of the country all to the first place in the ASEAN Youth Debate.

Based on his accomplishments in 2011, Odi, who is also the current vice president of UI's English Debating Society, deserves to be IndoDebate's first Debater of the Year. That also means he has won a one-year subscription of Newsweek magazine.

Odi had been on the top end of the DOTY table since it first rolled out in May 2011. He only lost his lead once in September to eventual runner-up Rifan Ibnu Rahman from Institut Teknologi Bandung and grabbed it back in October. The title was actually decided in November after the Founders' Trophy as his points were just too far above any of his rivals. Moreover, December did not change the table much because there was no competition in Indonesia and most who debated abroad failed to return with credits. The only tournament that contributed a few revisions was Asian BP but the changes did not affect the top end.

Results from the World Universities Debating Championships in Manila will be incorporated in the 2012 table because they came out after the turn of the year. Odi won the second best EFL speaker title there, a great way to plant his mark on the next DOTY list. Click here for the complete list. Find below the top 10 of the 2011 DOTY list. Some of them may no longer feature in 2012 due to their graduation but there is a sophomore, UI's Elghafiky Bimardhika, whose debating career has just started and should only get better.

1. Roderick Sibarani (Universitas Indonesia)
2. Rifan Ibnu Rahman (Institut Teknologi Bandung)
3. Ahdiat Permana (Universitas Indonesia)
4. Aryo Febrian (Universitas Bakrie)
5. Satrio Adi Pratama (Universitas Diponegoro)
6. Ahmad Naufal Dai (Universitas Indonesia)
7. Dimas Hokka (Universitas Indonesia)
8. Luthfi Abdurrahman (Institut Teknologi Bandung)
9. Eldhianto Jusuf (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
10. Elghafiky Bimardhika (Universitas Indonesia)

No comments:

Post a Comment