Thursday, December 26, 2013

Jaran Walia Tops IndoDebate 2013 Debater of the Year Table
Jaran Walia from Binus International - Debater of the Year 2013
Jaran Walia from Jakarta-based Binus International's School of Marketing is the 2013 IndoDebate Debater of the Year after a great run in the last 12 months. He married the two national titles, the Indonesia Varsities English Debate and the National Universities Debating Championship, for the first time in history and won two other domestic tournaments. He also broke in a competition in Singapore and grabbed the best EFL speaker title in Asian BP in China. In total, Jaran collected 51 points, a lot more than the two previous DOTY title holders. His NUDC and IVED partner Invi Atmanegara came third on the table.

Throughout the year, Jaran and Invi received challenges from Universitas Gadjah Mada debaters Alif Satria and Amir Abdul Aziz who were prominent in small tournaments but failed to excel in major events. After his landmark NUDC victory in August, Jaran surpassed his rivals and never dropped from the top. He will not be on the list next year after finishing his studies recently. He is still eligible for the upcoming World Universities Debating Championships 2014 in Chennai.

Despite their failure in holding the DOTY 2013 lead, UGM debaters had a breakout year. Six ended in the top 20 compared to one in 2012. Alif Satria, this year's runner-up, is only in his second year and has a bright future. Universitas Indonesia also have 6 debaters in that group.

All of the debaters in the top 20, bar one, come from the four debating powerhouses -- Binus International, UGM, UI and Institut Teknologi Bandung. The sole dark horse was Nur Rizki Oceano from Universitas Brawijaya. Universitas Bakrie, Universitas Parahyangan and Universitas Atma Jaya that had debaters in top 20 last year all slumped in 2013. The dominance of the big four underlines the need for regeneration in other clubs and proliferation of debating skills to other regions, especially outside of Java island. Click here for the full table.

Top 20 on IndoDebate's Debater of the Year 2013 list are:
  1. Jaran Walia (Binus International)
  2. Alif Satria (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  3. Invi Atmanegara (Binus International)
  4. Roderick Sibarani (Universitas Indonesia)
  5. Amir Abdul Aziz (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  6. Indriani Pratiwi (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  7. Boby Andika Ruitang (Universitas Indonesia)
  8. Melisa Irene (Binus International)
  9. Magreta Kailla Adenta (Universitas Indonesia)
  10. Fauzan Reza Maulana (Institut Teknologi Bandung)
  11. Romario Tambunan (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  12. Vicario Reinaldo (Institut Teknologi Bandung)
  13. Dennys Kapa (Universitas Indonesia)
  14. Nabila Aghniarizqa (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  15. Dianty Widyowati (Universitas Gadjah Mada)
  16. Aulia Anggita (Universitas Indonesia)
  17. Elghafiky Bimardhika (Universitas Indonesia)
  18. Nur Rizki Oceano (Universitas Brawijaya)
  19. Wilson Salim (Binus International)
  20. Alris Alfharisi (Institut Teknologi Bandung)

No comments:

Post a Comment