Sunday, December 29, 2013

WUDC 2014: 11 Indonesian Teams Compete in the Most Prestigious Debate

The preliminary rounds of the 2014 World Universities Debating Championships began today in Chennai, India with 11 teams from Indonesia, including a pair from remote Papua province. They are as follows:

Binus International A (Jaran Walia & Invi Atmanegara)
Binus University A (Cassandra Etania Liem & Rivera Kathryn)
Institut Pertanian Bogor A (Deanty Mulia & M.Iqbal Maulana)
Institut Teknologi Bandung A (Vicario Reinaldo & Fauzan Reza)
Universitas Brawijaya A (M. Nur Rizki Oceano & Queentries Regar)
Universitas Gadjah Mada A (Amir Abdul Aziz & Nabila Aghniarizqa)
Universitas Indonesia A (Egalita Irfan & Roderick Sibarani)
Universitas Indonesia B (Elghafiky Bimardhika & Aulia Anggita)
Universitas Musamus A (Umi Rakhmawati & Feronika Hutabarat)
Universitas Negeri Yogyakarta A (Arif Burhanudin & Tika Destiratri)
Universitas Negeri Yogyakarta B (Rasman & Anisa Sukma)

While no Indonesian has broken into the main knockouts of the most prestigious debate competition on the planet, some have advanced into the ESL/EFL elimination stage. As usual, there will be 9 mandatory rounds at WUDC. The best Indonesian team in terms of score were Astrid Kusumawardhani and Miranda Anwar from UI with 16 points in WUDC 2008. They broke first into the ESL knockouts that year. Let's see whether the WUDC 2014 teams can match that feat or break the record.      

No comments:

Post a Comment