Sunday, January 12, 2014

IVED 2014: Unbeaten UGM Trio Break First, Giant-killing Sadhar in Top 4

Universitas Gadjah Mada A (Alif Satria, Indriani Pratiwi, Romario Tambunan) topped the tab after winning all of their 6 preliminary rounds in the 2014 Indonesian Varsities English Debate. The exact trio won the 2013 ALSA UGM Crushbone Debate in November.  All 3 UGM teams progressed into the knockouts along with 3 teams from rival powerhouse Institut Teknologi Bandung. Fine achievements but not the spectacle of this tournament.

The debaters who are stealing the show come from Universitas Sanata Dharma, a Yogyakarta school that has not won any nationwide competition before. Not only that both of its teams advanced, Sadhar A (Tethy Cahyati Pesoa, Irene Anindyaputri, Vania Setiowati) even came fourth after defeating 2 teams from eight-time IVED champion Universitas Indonesia in the prelims. The last victory denied UI B, a team with three award-winning members, a spot in the octofinals. Last year, a Sadhar team only had a 2-4 record and ended far below the break line. Here are the teams that broke into the main and novice out-rounds.

Main Break
  1. Universitas Gadjah Mada A
  2. Universitas Indonesia A
  3. Binus International A
  4. Universitas Sanata Dharma A
  5. Institut Teknologi Bandung B
  6. Universitas Gadjah Mada B
  7. Universitas Brawijaya A
  8. Universitas Gadjah Mada C
  9. Universitas Indonesia C
  10. Institut Teknologi Bandung C
  11. Binus University A
  12. Universitas Atma Jaya Yogyakarta A
  13. Binus International B
  14. Institut Teknologi Bandung A
  15. Universitas Sanata Dharma B
  16. Universitas Muhammadiyah Malang
Novice Break
  1. Universitas Kristen Satya Wacana B
  2. Universitas Jenderal Soedirman A
  3. Institut Pertanian Bogor B
  4. Perguruan Tinggi Teknokrat B


No comments:

Post a Comment