Monday, May 26, 2014

UADC 2014: Indonesia Comes With Big Delegation, Bali Bid

The 2014 United Asian Debating Championships will see dozens of debaters from 12 Indonesian institutions and a campaign to bring the tournament to Bali. The intention to boost the nation's presence on the regional debating map is stronger than ever. Indonesian teams have dominated UADC's English-as-Foreign-Language category with four consecutive all-Indonesia EFL finals. But none from Indonesia has been able to break into the main knockouts. Asia's number one competition, which started in 2010, also has never been hosted in Indonesia.

Several Indonesian teams had broken into the main elimination stages of Asian tournaments that preceded UADC - the Asian Intervarsities Debating Championships (All-Asians) and the Asian Universities Debating Championships (AUDC). In 2007, Institut Teknologi Bandung hosted AUDC. But since the two events merged into UADC in 2010, those two accomplishments, breaking in the open category or hosting, have been elusive.

This year's UADC starts today at Singapore's Nanyang Technological University, a place where Indonesian varsity debating took off. When NTU hosted the 1997 All-Asians, teams from Universitas Indonesia and Universitas Parahyangan became the first from Indonesia to compete in a major international debating championship. As soon as the debaters came home, UI established the pioneer debating society in Indonesia and Unpar launched the country's first tournament using an internationally accepted format. The two trailblazing universities are now back at NTU along with an army of Indonesian debaters, seeking to create new history.

Nanyang Technological University - Venue of UADC 2014 
One historical feat can be made if the combined package of Binus University and Universitas Udayana wins the right to host UADC 2015 in Bali. They have prepared a campaign that promises debaters an unforgettable experience of debating on paradise island where the world's best natural beaches meet the highly artistic Balinese culture. A winning bid along with success in the debating chambers will excite the Indonesian debating scene. On the 17th anniversary of Indonesia's participation on the Asian debating stage, it is time for Indonesian debaters to shine at the embarkation point where the journey began. Here are the institutions that sent delegates to UADC 2014.
  1. Binus International
  2. Binus University
  3. Institut Pertanian Bogor
  4. Institut Teknologi Bandung 
  5. Universitas Atma Jaya Jakarta
  6. Universitas Gadjah Mada
  7. Universitas Indonesia
  8. Universitas Jenderal Soedirman
  9. Universitas Muhammadiyah Makassar 
  10. Universitas Padjadjaran
  11. Universitas Parahyangan
  12. Universitas Pelita Harapan

No comments:

Post a Comment