Sunday, June 1, 2014

UADC 2014: UGM Wins EFL Title in 5th All-Indonesian Final

UGM 2 - UADC 2014 EFL Champion
#1EFL Universitas Gadjah Mada 2 (Erwina Salsabila, Romario Tambunan, Nabila Aghniarizqa) grabbed the best English-as-Foreign-Language team title in the 2014 United Asian Debating Championships. In the fifth consecutive all-Indonesian UADC EFL final, UGM 2 knocked down the motion 'This House Regrets the Use of Graphic Imagery of Suffering to Promote Altruistic Cause' proposed by #7EFL Universitas Atma Jaya 1 (Cindy Fransisca, Kario Teguh, Silvya Suwandy). UGM's Romario Tambunan was the best speaker in the EFL final.

More than a dozen Indonesian teams went to the 5th UADC at Nanyang Technological University in Singapore but none broke into the main knockouts while six squads qualified for the EFL quarterfinals. UGM 2 was also the best Indonesian team in the preliminaries with a 5-3 win-loss record but it failed to break into main elimination on speaker points after finishing at #30 when only 24 teams could advance. Next year the tournament will be held in Bali after a partnership between Binus University and Universitas Udayana won the approval of the UADC council. Hopefully, home crowd advantage will not only help Indonesian debaters continue the EFL winning streak but also break into the elite club of Asian debating.  

No comments:

Post a Comment