Monday, July 22, 2013

Australs 2013: Sydney Wins 16th Trophy, IIU Tops ESL

#1 University of Sydney 2 (Daniel Swain, Nina Ubaldi, Paul Karp) won the 2013 Australasian Intervarsity Debating Championship yesterday without dropping a match, giving their school its 16th victory in the world's second most prestigious debating competition. In the final they defeated the motion "That women should be criminally liable for harm to foetuses in utero as a result of their lifestyle choices" proposed by #2 Victoria University of Wellington 1 (Asher Emanuel, Nick Cross, Jodie O'Neill). Daniel Swain also topped the speaker tab.

In the ESL category, #2ESL International Islamic University 1 (Ameera Moore, Syed Saddiq, Mubarat Wassey) took the crown after outclassing #5ESL Hong Kong University 2 (Griffith Chen, Rayna Wang, Helen Hu). Syed Saddiq bagged the best ESL speaker award. Two Universitas Indonesia teams broke into the ESL elimination stage but both fell in the quarterfinals. UI 1 (Aulia Anggita, Dennys Kapa, Egalita Irfan) had a 5-3 win-loss preliminary record, one of the best ever by an Indonesian team.

No comments:

Post a Comment