Thursday, July 18, 2013

WUDC 2014: UI Gets Second Slot, 6 Indonesian Teams Drop Out

Universitas Indonesia became the only Indonesian institution to get a chance to register a second team for the 2014 World Universities Debating Championships. There were 18 other institutions, mostly from the Western world, that received the privilege, which is based on success breaking into the elimination stage of WUDC in the past three years. The only other non-Western was the International Islamic University of Malaysia. They must all pay the deposit before August 5 to stay on the list.

Six Indonesian teams, however, lost their seats after failure to adhere to requirements. They include Universitas Atma Jaya which had a team that broke into the EFL eliminations in WUDC 2013. The good news is 6 others Indonesian squads were among the 120 promoted to the main list, including powerhouses Binus International and Institut Teknologi Bandung. More slots, including second team allocations, might go to Indonesian institutions after the July 19 and August 5 deadlines for down payment.       

Find below the current status of the teams on the list.

Second Team Allocation (deposit deadline Aug. 5)
12. Universitas Indonesia
Initial Allocation (new placements)
28. Universitas Gadjah Mada
100. Institut Pertanian Bogor
143. Universitas Brawijaya
187. Universitas Negeri Yogyakarta
216. Universitas Sriwijaya
241. Binus University

Promoted Teams
258. Binus International (deposit deadline July 19)
263. Institut Teknologi Bandung (deposit deadline July 19)
295. STBA Teknokrat (deposit deadline Aug. 5)
296. Universitas Diponegoro (deposit deadline Aug, 5)
314. Universitas Musamus (deposit deadline Aug. 5)
322. Universitas Negeri Padang (deposit deadline Aug. 5)

Waiting List
8. Universitas Gadjah Mada (2nd team)
104. Universitas Negeri Yogyakarta (2nd team)
126. Binus University (2nd team)
134. Binus International (2nd team)
136. Institut Teknologi Bandung (2nd team)
156. Universitas Negeri Padang (2nd team)
170. Universitas Indonesia (3rd team)
260. Binus International (3rd team)
261. Institut Teknologi Bandung (3rd team)

No comments:

Post a Comment