Monday, November 18, 2013

Overwhelming UGM Reign at ACDC 2013

ACDC 2013 Champs - UGM A
(Alif, Indriani, Romario)
Universitas Gadjah Mada had 3 teams competing in the 2013 ALSA UGM Crushbone Debate Competition and all of them reached the semifinals. Two advanced to yesterday's final, in which #1 UGM A (Romario Tambunan, Indriani Pratiwi, Alif Satria) crushed their juniors #2 UGM B (Aldila Irsyad Noi, Ganjar Dennis, Anhar Firdausyi). Alif Satria won the best speaker award, his second in as many months.

Despite the expansion of ACDC to an-all Java competition that had the potential of pulling the best in the country, the only significant additions were second-layer teams from Institut Teknologi Bandung and Universitas Padjajaran. The latter became the sole non-UGM semifinalist. Stronger debaters chose to skip this tournament, giving host UGM freedom to reign. Previously, ACDC was limited to participants from Yogyakarta, Central Java and East Java provinces. UGM is the only national powerhouse in the tri-province area.

No comments:

Post a Comment