Friday, November 15, 2013

FT 2013: Four High School Students Selected For Debate Scholarship

Four high school students, all from Jakarta, will begin their free training with Universitas Indonesia debaters tomorrow for the upcoming Founders' Trophy 2013. After weeks of deliberation, the selectors announced SMA Sang Timur students Bradley Gunawan and Dimas Prakoso, SMA Tarakanita 2 debater Christine Yaputra and Raffles International Christian School speaker John Amadeo deserve to receive the debate scholarship.

The training will prepare them for the oldest and most prestigious BP debate tournament in Indonesia. Top debaters have failed to advance into the knockouts of previous FTs, showing how challenging the event can be. However, a high school team won the competition nine years ago, the only time such a thing occurred in a debating tournament in Indonesia with varsity participants. SMA Kanisius Jakarta defeated top varsity and alumni teams in the final of FT2004.

The details of the FT2013 scholars are as follows:
1. Bradley Gunawan (SMA Sang Timur Jakarta)
Champion of Twaalf Tarakanita 2012; Best Speaker of Binus E-Com 2013, ANPS 2012, Ed.Com 2012
2. John Amadeo (Raffles International Christian School Jakarta)
Champion of Binus E-Com 2013
3. Christine Yaputra (SMA Tarakanita 2 Jakarta)
Champion of Enthusiastic SMA 1 Bogor 2012
4. Dimas Prakoso (SMA Sang Timur Jakarta)
Semifinalist of Binus E-Com 2013

No comments:

Post a Comment