Friday, July 6, 2012

NSDC 2012: Bali Debaters Bring Home Bonanza

NSDC 2012 Champions Bali (l to r)
Ida Ayu Pradnya Paramita, Mulyawati
Moeliono, Carrisa Tehputri with
ministry official Bambang Indriyanto

#1 Bali (Carrisa Tehputri, Ida Ayu Pradnya Paramita and Mulyawati Moeliono) did not only win the grandfinal of the 2012 National Schools Debating Championship last night. They also took home the 1st, 2nd and 4th best speaker awards and rights to be among the 8 candidates for Team Indonesia in the 2013 World Schools Debating Championship. It is very rare for a province to have 3 candidates in the final stage of the WSDC trials. The all-girls team got that bonanza by winning all debates without dropping a single judge. Last year, Bali also won all of their matches until the final where they fell to eventual champions Aceh.

In the final yesterday, Bali knocked down the proposition from #2 South Sulawesi (Andriano, Khumairah, Aaron Nathanael), which reached a NSDC final for the first time. It was only the second time the final had two teams from outside the main island of Java, showing better distribution of talent than the varsity scene that is dominated by Java universities. The first was last year.

All Bali debaters came from the award-winning SMA 4 Denpasar just like last year. The same exact team championed this year's ALSA UI E-Comp, the most prestigious school-based competition, and have no match in the province. NSDC is province based. The meritocratic approach is also one reason why Sulsel could excel this time as this year's selection was not burdened by geographical quotas like recent years. All speakers this year hailed from schools in provincial capital Makassar, where the debating scene is far more developed than the rest of South Sulawesi. In many provinces, political considerations sometimes cloud the selection process, preventing the very best in the region to get spots.

No comments:

Post a Comment