Saturday, July 7, 2012

OIC Debate 2012: Main and Indonesian Results

The 2nd Organization for Islamic Cooperation Debating Championship took place in Malaysia earlier this week involving 24 teams from 6 OIC member countries. The host country dominated with teams from Universitas Indonesia and University of Dhaka giving the strongest challenges to the Malaysians. Uniquely, individual awards were given based on gender to the top 3 male and female debaters. UI's Egalita Irfan was the sole debater from outside Malaysia who could break into the top 10 speakers on the tab. She was also the only one leaving Malaysia with an award -- the 2nd best female debater. Key results are as follows:

Champions: International Islamic University Malaysia (Syed Saddiq, Arinah Najwa, Jaber Abedin)
Finalists: Universiti Teknologi Mara (Shafiq Bazari, Mohammed Mifzal, Muayyad bin Khairulmaini)

Top 10 Speakers on tab:
1. Syed Saddiq (International Islamic University Malaysia)
2. Shafiq Bazari (Universiti Teknologi Mara)
3. Arinah Najwa (International Islamic University Malaysia)
3. Mohammed Mifzal (Universiti Teknologi Mara)
5. Don Siron Pereira (KDU Colleges)
6. Jaber Abedin (International Islamic University Malaysia)
7. Adrian Calvin Cheong (KDU Colleges)
8. Egalita Irfan (Universitas Indonesia)
8. Muayyad bin Khairulmaini (Universiti Teknologi Mara)
10. Sharanya Visualingam (KDU Colleges)

Top Female Speaker Awards
1. Arinah Najwa (International Islamic University Malaysia)
2. Egalita Irfan (Universitas Indonesia)
3. Sharanya Visualingam (KDU Colleges)

Top Male Speaker Awards
1. Syed Saddiq (International Islamic University Malaysia)
2. Shafiq Bazari (Universiti Teknologi Mara)
3. Mohammed Mifzal (International Islamic University Malaysia)

Performance of  Indonesian teams:
#6 Universitas Indonesia (#8 Egalita Irfan, #11 Aulia Anggita, #33 Hana Hanifah) -- 3-2 (Quarterfinalist)
#14 Universitas Gadjah Mada (#20 Wida Wahyuni, #28 Dianty Widyowati, #46 Ali Bachtiar) -- 2-3
#20 Universitas Sriwijaya (#46 Joko Dwi Santoso, #46 M. Akbar Rafsanzani, #55 Ferdy Hirawan) -- 1-4
#23 Universitas Parahyangan (#46 Brinanda Lidwina, #59 Noah Paat, #65 Jessica Bellamy) -- 1-4

No comments:

Post a Comment