Monday, July 16, 2012

Australs 2012: Monash Bags Top 2 Team and Speaker Awards

#1 Monash University (Chris Bisset, Kiran Iyer, Madeline Schultz) won the 2012 Australasian Intervarsity Debating Championships after beating #7 Monash 2 (Gemma Buckley, James Beavis, Collette Mintz) in the first final ever in the history of the tournament that had teams from the same institution. Bisset and Iyer also concluded the competition with the 1st and 2nd best speaker awards. Iyer achieved the rare feat of combining the title from Australs, the second most prestigious debating event in the world, with the very top one, champion of the World Universities Debating Championship, which he grabbed in Manila at the start of this year.

Japan's International Christian University took home this year's best ESL team title, which belonged to Universitas Indonesia in 2009 and 2011. UI sent a freshmen team to Australs 2012 but they did not progress to any out rounds.

No comments:

Post a Comment