Thursday, July 5, 2012

NSDC 2012: Bali, Sulsel Create Consecutive Non-Java Final

Last year's first non-Java final in the National School Debating Championship was not a fluke. Unbeaten #1 Bali (Carrisa Tehputri, Mulyawati Moeliono, Pradnya Paramita) will face #2 South Sulawesi (Khumairah, Adriano, Aaron Nathaniel) in the grandfinal tonight after eliminating their Java challengers in semi-finals. The Bali debaters all come from SMA 4 Depensar and part of the team that won the 2012 ALSA UI E-Comp, the most prominent school-based tournament in Indonesia. NSDC is province-based.

Bali were also unbeaten and came with the ALSA title last year but fell in the final to eventual champions Aceh. The current team hope to avoid the same fate but the South Sulawesi squad are a product of a new method of selection. In the past, teams from that province had to consider sub-regional representation. This year the selection was purely merit-based and  all debaters come from the capital city of Makassar where schools have been engaged in tight competitions throughout the year.

All of the final debaters are among the top 24 speakers who are going through a selection for Team Indonesia for the 2013 World Schools Debating Championship in Turkey. Bali is a regular producer of WSDC debaters. The last time South Sulawesi could grab a spot in Team Indonesia was in 2001.    

No comments:

Post a Comment