Tuesday, July 31, 2012

DOTY 2012: Points from Breaking in International Debate Added

From July, the 2012 IndoDebate Debater of the Year list recognises the achievements of varsity debaters who can break into the main elimination stage of an international competition which has more non-Indonesian teams than the number that can progress into the knockouts. This includes all top-level international championships (WUDC, Australs, UADC, Asian BP) regardless of where they take place and almost all intervarsities held outside Indonesia.

The new feature will not take into account results from Indonesia-based tournaments branding themselves as international but without a number of overseas teams that exceeds the elimination threshold, for example, IPSDC (1 overseas participating team, 8 breaking spots). Such events are considered equal to national debates. ESL/EFL categories of international championships will continue to be valued like national tournaments because the general quality level of these handicapped divisions is not superior to IVED, JOVED or FT.

Debaters who qualify for the new "international break" feature will get 3 points for each time they advance. This is equal to points received for a national championship victory (1 Win, 1 Final, 1 SF). These achievers will continue to collect points if their teams reach the semifinal, final and top honor of the international tournament.

UI team in the 2012 OIC Intervarsity Debating Championship in Malaysia
(l to r) Hana Hanifah, Egalita Irfan with her speaker award and Aulia Anggita
No Indonesian debater had achieved this feat in 2012 until a team from Universitas Indonesia  (Aulia Anggita. Egalita Irfan, Hana Hanifah) broke into the elimination stage of the 2nd Organization for Islamic Cooperation Intervarsity Debate that took place in the first week of July in Malaysia. Several teams had participated in overseas tournaments this year (Canton IV, IHL, UADC, SIDEO, Australs) but none entered the main out rounds other than UI's OIC team. The UI trio fell in the quarterfinals, giving them 3 points for breaking but no more extra team-based credits. Egalita Irfan slipped into the top 10 speakers of the tournament, enabling her to get another point for individual accomplishment. This addition on top of Egalita and Aulia's success in the recent Bawor Cup changed the make up of the leading debaters of the DOTY list.

Top 10 as of July 2012
1. Rifan Ibnu Rahman (Institut Teknologi Bandung)
2. Aryo Febrian (Universitas Bakrie)    
3. Aulia Anggita (Universitas Indonesia)
4. Invi Atmanegara (Binus International)
5. Cindy Fransisca (Universitas Atma Jaya)
6. Egalita Irfan (Universitas Indonesia)
7. Jane Revevalin (Institut Teknologi Bandung)
8. Dennys Kapa (Universitas Indonesia)
9. Elghafiky Bimardhika (Universitas Indonesia)
10. Fauzan Reza Maulana (Institut Teknologi Bandung)

No comments:

Post a Comment