Monday, July 16, 2012

Bawor Cup 2012: 3 Years Running, 3 Times Title Goes to UI

For the third time in as many years as the Bawor Cup has existed, the trophy went to debaters from Universitas Indonesia who had the position of Opening Opposition in the final. From that charmed role, #2 UI B (Aulia Anggita & Egalita Irfan) last night defeated #4 Universitas Atma Jaya (Cindy Fransisca & Davin Susanto), #7 Universitas Parahyangan (Dwita Aryani & Josefhine Chitra) and schoolmates #5 UI A (Dennys Kapa & Elghafiky Bimardhika) to ensure no other institution can claim to be champions of this Purwokerto-based tournament.

The victory in the 3rd Bawor gave the UI sophomore pair a free ticket to compete in the 2012 World Universities Peace Invitational Debate in Malaysia at the end of the year. This is the second triumph in less than a week for UI after its debaters won the 2012 Java Overland English Debate that also took place in Purwokerto. UI students have won almost all nationwide debating tournaments held in this quaint Central Java town for more than a decade. UI has championed 4 nationwide debates in 2012, besting other Indonesian colleges so far. All victories came in the last 2 months.

Aulia Anggita, who is also the president of UI's English Debating Society, topped the night with the best speaker in the final title. However, the overall top individual award went to Unpar's Dwita Aryani. The BP-style tournament also had a novice category, which was won by Universitas Brawijaya B. The Malang-based team received the right to compete in the Seri Iskandar Debate Open in Malaysia later this month.

No comments:

Post a Comment