Tuesday, April 29, 2014

ALSA UI E-Comp 2014: UI, SMA 4 Denpasar Recapture Titles

ALSA UI E-Comp 2014 Champions:  UI A
Universitas Indonesia and SMA 4 Denpasar won the ALSA UI English Competition, the country's longest running debate tournament, in 2011 and 2012 in their respective categories. They both lost their titles last year but reclaimed them today. #1 UI A (Magreta Kailla Adenta, Roderick Sibarani, Terry Muthahhari) defeated #3 Universitas Atma Jaya A (Cindy Fransisca, Kario Teguh, Silvya Suwandy) in the varsity category while #2 SMA 4 Denpasar A (Yunindita Prasidya, Putu Ayu Saraswati, Denny Adiputra) outclassed cross-city rival #4 SMA 1 Denpasar A (Elizabeth Hanakata, Biani Himawan, Keila Ayu).

UI's Roderick Sibarani, who was part of the UI team that won in 2011, topped the speaker tab. The best high school debater was Yunindita Prasidya from SMA 4 Denpasar, which also produced the three previous winners of this award. ALSA UI E-Comp continues to be the most complicated event to run as there are parallel debate competitions as well as a Model United Nations conference for high school students along with individual-based English contests on the sides. However, debate remains the crown jewel of this annual occasion.

1 comment: