Monday, December 19, 2011

WUPID 2011: Breaking Teams & Prelim Motions

The 2011 World Universities Peace Invitational Debate organizers announced today the 16 teams that can proceed into the knockouts. Universitas Indonesia and Binus International teams competed in this tournament, which funds the world's top debating universities to come to Malaysia every year, but they failed to break. Bipeds A (Astrio Feligent & Christian Leonardo) came very close with 9 VPs, the same amount of points that #10-16 had. Those who did advance are as follows:
  1. University of Oxford A
  2. Victoria University of Wellington A
  3. University of New South Wales A
  4. Yale University A
  5. Ateneo de Manila University B
  6. Ateneo de Manila University A
  7. Monash University A
  8. University of Cambridge A
  9. Monash University B
  10. University of Queensland A
  11. Cornell University A
  12. University of Melbourne B
  13. Nanyang Technological University B
  14. National University of Singapore A
  15. University of Melbourne A
  16. Universiti Teknologi Mara B
The motions in the preliminaries:
R1. THW abolish permanent membership of the United Nations Security Council
R2. With the benefit of hindsight, TH regrets awarding President Barack Obama the Nobel Peace Prize
R3. THBT Asia should welcome Chinese military expansion
R4. THBT Malaysia should embrace the right to peaceful assembly
R5. THBT the peaceful resolution of conflicts in South America must include the international legalization of cocaine

No comments:

Post a Comment