Tuesday, May 1, 2012

ALSA UI E-Comp 2012: Rivals UI, UGM Clash in Final

The two universities with the most debating trophies in the country, reigning champion Universitas Indonesia and 2007 winner Universitas Gadjah Mada, will face off in the final of the 2012 ALSA UI E-Competition. #4 UI A (Aulia Anggita Larasati, Albert Santoso, Dennys Kapa) defeated #1 Institut Teknologi Bandung A (Muhammad Pandu, Jane Revevalin, Vicario Reinaldo) in a semifinal match where sophomore Aulia got the better of her former high school coach Pandu, a sixth year student. In the other semi, #2 UGM A (Cinantyan Punjung, Nabila Aghniarizqa, Thoriq Murtadho) eliminated #6 Universitas Bakrie A (Aryo Febrian, Leliana Anggraini, Andrew Prasatya).

Dennys Kapa was part of the UI team that won last year. If Dennys repeats that feat today, he will be the only debater with two consecutive ALSA UI E-Comp titles since the competition used an internationally accepted style in 1998. The tournament employed a self-made 3-on-3 format before the reforms.

No comments:

Post a Comment