Wednesday, May 2, 2012

ALSA UI E-Comp 2012: UI, 4 Denpasar Keep Their Trophies

The winners of last year's ALSA UI English Competition debates, Universitas Indonesia and SMA 4 Denpasar, retained their titles yesterday, setting a milestone of twin back-to-back victories in the country's longest running debating tournament.

Dennys Kapa, who was part of last year's winning UI team, provided another record for the books through last night's achievement as he became the first person to win two consecutive ALSA UI varsity titles since the competition used an internationally accepted style in 1998. Prior to that, there were others who achieved that feat when ALSA UI E-Comp used an independent, shorter 3-on-3 format. Dennys' accomplishment was better than the previous ones because he did it in his second year.

In the university finals, #4 EDS UI A (Aulia Anggita Larasati, Albert Santoso, Dennnys Kapa) defeated #2 Universitas Gadjah Mada A (Cinantyan Punjung, Nabila Aghniarizqa, Thoriq Murtadho). This is UI's first trophy in 2012. It is still the Indonesian university with the biggest silverware collection by far. UI teams won every single ALSA UI E-Comp until 2007 when an UGM team broke that streak. Only two other non-UI teams have championed the tournament since then.  

In high school category, the winning institution had been found before the final when SMA 4 Denpasar teams won their semifinal matches. In the last debate, #2 SMA Denpasar A (Carissa Tehputri, Mulyawati Moeliono, Ida Ayu Pradnya Paramita) bested schoolmates #1 SMA Denpasar B (Alana Deborah, I Gede Bagus Gloria, Annyssa Rizki). Denpasar's Carissa also took home the best speaker award. In the varsity section, Muhammad Pandu from Institut Teknologi Bandung A topped the individual tab.

No comments:

Post a Comment