Friday, October 26, 2012

ABP 2012: Malaysia Sweeps Half of Break List

Debaters from Malaysia took half of the spots in the elimination round of the 2012 Asian British Parliamentary Debating Championship and two Malaysian teams were unlucky not to be part of that lot. Universiti Teknologi Mara 3 and International Islamic University 5, two teams with scores matching the 24th on the tab from preliminaries, missed the break on head-to-head count with the last advancing pair, their fellow countrymen from Universiti Malaya 1. Only the best 24 teams after 6 preliminary rounds can continue their journey with rank #9 to #24 required to battle it out in pre-quarterfinal matches before winners of that stage face the top 8. The main break list has no Indonesian team as the highest ranked from the host country matched the points of the last three breaking pairs but had lower individual scores.

Main Break List
1. National University of Singapore 1 (SG)
2. Korea University 1 (SK)
3. Nanyang Technological University 1 (SG)
4. Multimedia University Melaka 1 (MY)
5. Universiti Teknologi Mara 1 (MY)
6. National University of Singapore 2 (SG)
7. National Law School of India University 1 (IN)
8. International Islamic University 1 (MY)
9. Rashtriya Vidyalaya College of Engineering 1 (IN)
10. International Islamic University 3 (MY)
11. Peking University 1 (CN)
12. Universiti Teknologi Mara 2 (MY)
13. Asia Pacific University 1 (MY)
14. University of Tokyo 1 (JP)
15. International Islamic University 2 (MY)
16. Chung Ang University 1 (SK)
17. International Islamic University 4 (MY)
18. Universiti Kebangsaan Malaysia 1 (MY)
19. School of Law, Christ University 1 (IN)
20. North South University 1 (BD)
21. Multimedia University Melaka 2 (MY)
22. Wawasan University 1 (MY)
23. Nanyang Technological University 2 (SG)
24. Universiti Malaya 1 (MY)

No comments:

Post a Comment