Saturday, June 30, 2012

NUEDC 2012: The Original Top 32 Teams

The full tabulation report of the 2012 National Universities English Debating Championship is out. The team tab showed the real top 32 teams were different than the ones that debated in the main knockouts. Some who managed to get into the top 32 did not break, giving chance to lower teams to slip into the octofinals.

Serang-based Universitas Sultan Ageng Tirtayasa (Rezza Brammadita & Mita Puspitasari), which achievements had not caught much attention before and failed to pass the regionals last year, performed very well last week and reached as high as #9, right beneath the favourite 8 teams. However, they were disqualified because one of the debaters, Mita Puspitasari, was a substitute. Ironically, on the speaker tab, her scores were attributed to Nur Latifah, the debater she replaced, who was in Jakarta for a different kind of debate while the Bali NUEDC was underway. The government-run NUEDC bans subtitution. This rule also made strong favourites Universitas Bakrie miss the nationals.

Universitas Paramadina (Siti Octrina Malikah & Niken Anjar Wulan), a school which had never competed in NUEDC before, proved newcomers could excel in NUEDC by collecting enough points to reach #18. As first-timers, Paramadina naturally signed up as novice but when the pair heard teams that they defeated in the preliminaries broke, they believed they had the right to compete in the main knockouts. Their complaints and request to debate in the higher class landed on deaf ears as organisers denied them automatic entrance. Last year, novice teams that were eligible to break into the main knockouts could choose between the two categories. In major international tournaments with multiple categories, any team from the lower category that can break into the open knockouts would be given a chance to do so. In NUEDC 2012, organisers condemned novices to the lower class without opportunity to graduate even if they had passed the cut. A member of the adjudication core said it was the responsibility of teams to clearly state which category they wish to enter. Unlike international major tournaments, automatic graduation does not apply in NUEDC.

Eventual novice champions Universitas Negeri Yogyakarta, STMIK Mikroskil, Universitas Pembangunan Nasional, Universitas Muhammadiyah Gresik, Politeknik Negeri Ujung Pandang and Universitas Internasional Batam were also missing in the main knockouts although they got into the top 32 teams. All of them registered as novices and intended to only debate in the lower category, which gave easier access to prizes, including funding for the next World Universities Debating Championship.

The original top 32 after 7 preliminary rounds in NUEDC 2012 are as follows:
1. Universitas Gadjah Mada (Region 5)
2. Universitas Parahyangan (Region 4)
3. Universitas Indonesia (Region 3)
4. Universitas Diponegoro (Region 6)
5. Universitas Bina Nusantara (Region 3)
6. Institut Teknologi Bandung (Region 4)
7. Universitas Brawijaya (Region 7)
8. Universitas Atma Jaya Jakarta (Region 3)
9. Universitas Sultan Ageng Tirtayasa (Region 3)
10. Universitas Negeri Malang (Region 7)
11. Universitas Hasanuddin (Region 9)
12. Universitas Atma Jaya Yogyakarta (Region 5)
13. Universitas Negeri Jakarta (Region 3)
14. Universitas Kristen Satya Wacana (Region 6)
15. Politeknik Negeri Malang (Region 7)
16. Universitas Negeri Yogyakarta (Region 5)
17. Universitas Jenderal Soedirman (Region 6)
18. Universitas Paramadina (Region 3)
19. Universitas Padjadjaran (Region 4)
20. Universitas Udayana (Region 8)
21. Universitas Sebelas Maret (Region 6)
22. STMIK Mikroskil (Region 1)
23. Universitas Pembangunan Nasional (Region 5)
24. Universitas Muhammadiyah Gresik (Region 7)
25. Institut Pertanian Bogor (Region 3)
26. Politeknik Negeri Sriwijaya (Region 2)
27. Politeknik Negeri Ujung Pandang (Region 9)
28. Universitas Lampung (Region 2)
29. Universitas Nusa Cendana (Region 8)
30. Politeknik LP3I Medan (Region 1)
31. Universitas Negeri Semarang (Region 6)
32. Universitas Internasional Batam (Region 10)

The list also shows all participants from Region 3 (Greater Jakarta) were strong enough to enter the top 32 while no team from Region 11 (Kalimantan) and Region 12 (Eastern Indonesia) managed to get into that zone. Without training changes in those regions, the pattern might continue next year.    

Click here for the full tab.

No comments:

Post a Comment