Saturday, August 24, 2013

Cambridge Debaters from Asia Win Europe's Top Tournament

For the first time in history, a team entirely made up of debaters from Asia won the European Universities Debating Championship. Both represented their respective countries in previous  World Schools Debating Championships. Anser Aftab, who debated for Pakistan in WSDC 2007, and Ashish Kumar, who was part of the triumphant Singapore squad in WSDC 2011, entered EUDC 2013 as University of Cambridge A and left with the trophy. Asian debaters had won EUDC before but with European partners.

#2 Cambridge A in the final yesterday defeated #1 Trinity College Dublin A (Sally Rooney & Michael Barton), #8 University of Edinburgh A (Marlena Vallas & David McCreath) and #10 University of Oxford A (Matthew Handley & Natasha Rachman). In the ESL division, University of Lund became the first Swedish team to win that category. 

No comments:

Post a Comment