Saturday, August 31, 2013

NUDC 2013: Binus Scores Hat-trick, Unila Wins Novice Prize

The 2013 NUDC champions Universitas Bina
Nusantara - Invi Atmanegara & Jaran Walia
The national British Parliamentary debating crown went to Universitas Bina Nusantara for the third time in a row. Invi Atmanegara and Jaran Walia secured it yesterday after winning the 2013 National University Debating Championship in Palembang for the Jakarta-based university. They also became the first debaters to marry the national titles for BP and 3-on-3 formats. Representing their club Binus International Pool of English Debaters (BIPEDS), the pair and their teammate Andrew Sadeli championed the 3-on-3 Indonesian Varsities English Debate last January.

The hat-trick, however, belongs to the Binus family, not BIPEDS. There are two active debating institutions in the Binus University system, which take turns in competing in the state-sponsored national BP tournament. The education ministry allows only one team to represent a college in the event. The much-older Bina Nusantara English Club (BNEC) took part last year and defended the title that BIPEDS grabbed in 2011. Invi, a former captain of BIPEDS, also took home the best speaker award.

In yesterday's final #2 Binus, speaking from Opening Opposition, knocked down the motion "This House would only allow individuals who have held a position in the governmental structure to run as a presidential candidate" and defeated opponents #3 Universitas Gadjah Mada (Amir Abdul Aziz & Nabila Aghniarizqa), #4 Institut Teknologi Bandung (Fauzan Reza Maulana & Vicario Reinaldo) and #5 Universitas Bakrie (Aryo Febrian Moedanton & Alifia Firliani). The champions along with second and third winners, Bakrie and ITB respectively, are eligible to receive funding to compete in the 2014 World Universities Debating Championships in Chennai.

#1 Universitas Indonesia (Roderick Sibarani & Egalita Irfan) crashed in the semifinal but also received the golden ticket to WUDC. The ministry decided this year to give the fourth ticket to the top team on the tab rather than the novice champion, which was the recipient in past years.

The winner of the lower novice category this year was #3N Universitas Lampung (Hesti Setyawati & Vianna Maria Ursula). They outperformed #1N Politeknik Negeri Semarang (Laela Ratna & Akbar Prabowo), #2N Universitas Surabaya (Natasha Christina & Jorgy Purnomo) and #4N Universita Khairun Ternate (Indry Anwar & Jasmal Martora) in the novice final. Bahram Naderil from Universitas Jember grabbed the best novice speaker prize.

No comments:

Post a Comment