Wednesday, August 28, 2013

NUDC 2013: No Upsets Yet, Favorites All Sail to Semis

The semifinalists of the 2013 National University Debating Championship are all from Java-based institutions with years of experience and cabinets of trophies. They include the 5 teams favored to win the tournament - Universitas Bina Nusantara, Universitas Indonesia, Universitas Gadjah Mada, Institut Teknologi Bandung and Universitas Bakrie.

Emerging clubs failed to break the ceiling while non-Java teams were already out of the contention after the octofinals. The lowest-ranked survivor is #19 Institut Pertanian Bogor,  not a newcomer. One of its debaters went to the World Universities Debating Championships in Berlin and won the novice category at the 2011 Indonesian Varsities English Debate. The top 8 will face off on Thursday. Here they are:

Semifinal 1
#1 Universitas Indonesia (Roderick Sibarani & Egalita Irfan)
#4 Institut Teknologi Bandung (Vicario Reinaldo & Fauzan Reza Maulana)
#5 Universitas Bakrie (Alifia Firliani & Aryo Febrian)
#8 Universitas Brawijaya (Aditya Janu & Nur Rizki Oceano)

Semifinal 2
#2 Universitas Bina Nusantara (Invi Atmanegara & Jaran Walia)
#3 Universitas Gadjah Mada (Amir Abdul Aziz & Nabila Aghniarizqa)
#10 Universitas Padjadjaran (Ratu Istihajar & Westra Tanribali)
#19 Institut Pertanian Bogor (Devi Fitri Yani & M. Iqbal Maulana) 

No comments:

Post a Comment