Monday, August 26, 2013

NUDC 2013: Reigning Champ Binus Only Unbeaten Team After R3

Universitas Bina Nusantara (Jaran Walia & Invi Atmanegara) finished the first 3 rounds of the 2013 National University Debating Championship as the only team that won all their matches. There are 4 preliminaries to go but the pair look strong in their campaign to give their school its third trophy in as many years. Teams from Bina Nusantara won in 2011 and 2012.

The tab leaders, however, are only one point ahead of powerhouses Universitas Indonesia (Roderick Sibarani & Egalita Irfan), Institut Teknologi Bandung (Vicario Reinaldo & Fauzan Reza Maulana) and Universitas Gadjah Mada (Amir Abdul Aziz & Nabila Aghniarizqa) and dark horses Universitas Pelita Harapan (Clarissa Wijaya & Saagar Teckchandani) and Universitas Sumatera Utara (Elsyam Maulana & Frederick Samuel), which all have collected 8 points.

The running of NUDC 2013 has been smooth so far with fast online match-ups, debates ending on time and clear motions. The one nagging issue is the adjudication pool. With more than 80 judges classified as trainees, which means their test scores came short, there was no chamber in 3 rounds with the ideal three-member panel. Most rooms only had one qualified adjudicator. 

No comments:

Post a Comment